Posted in My Life, Poetry, Subject English

Feeling the Loss

Study of a dead child windusAfter losing Blythe this past July, I spent some time grieving and allowing myself to feel the loss.  A friend sent me a beautiful poem that captured how I felt.  I was also encouraged by the poetry of Anne Bradstreet, who was no stranger to loss as well.  Here are three of Anne Bradstreet’s poems that anyone dealing with loss might be able to relate to and receive comfort from:


On My Dear Grandchild, Simon Bradstreet, Who Died on 16 November, 1669, Being but a Month, and One Day Old.

No sooner came, but gone, and fall’n asleep,
Acquaintance short, yet parting caused us weep;
Three flowers, two scarcely blown, the last I’ th’ bud,
Cropt by th’ Almighty’s hand; yet is He good.
With dreadful awe before Him let’s be mute,
Such was His will, but why, let’s not dispute,
With humble hearts and mouths put in the dust,
Let’s say He’s merciful as well as just.
He will return and make up all our losses,
And smile again after our bitter crosses
Go pretty babe, go rest with sisters twain;
Among the blest in endless joys remain.

Source: http://genius.com/Anne-bradstreet-on-my-dear-grand-child-simon-bradstreet-who-dyed-on-16-novemb-1669-being-but-a-moneth-and-one-day-old-annotated


In Memory of My Dear Grandchild Anne Bradstreet Who Deceased June 20, 1669, Being Three Years and Seven Months Old

With troubled heart and trembling hand I write,
The heavens have changed to sorrow my delight.
How oft with disappointment have I met,
When I on fading things my hopes have set.
Experience might ‘fore this have made me wise,
To value things according to their price.
Was ever stable joy yet found below?
Or perfect bliss without mixture of woe?
I knew she was but as a withering flower,
That’s here today, perhaps gone in an hour;
Like as a bubble, or the brittle glass,
Or like a shadow turning as it was.
More fool then I to look on that was lent
As if mine own, when thus impermanent.
Farewell dear child, thou ne’er shall come to me,
But yet a little while, and I shall go to thee;
Mean time my throbbing heart’s cheered up with this:
Thou with thy Saviour art in endless bliss.

Source and read more about this poem: https://poemshape.wordpress.com/tag/in-memory-of-my-dear-grandchild-anne-bradstreet/


Here Follows Some Verses Upon the Burning of Our house, July 10th. 1666. Copied Out of a Loose Paper.

In silent night when rest I took,
For sorrow near I did not look,
I wakened was with thund’ring noise
And piteous shrieks of dreadful voice.
That fearful sound of “fire” and “fire,”
Let no man know is my Desire.
I, starting up, the light did spy,
And to my God my heart did cry
To straighten me in my Distress
And not to leave me succourless.
Then, coming out, behold a space
The flame consume my dwelling place.
And when I could no longer look,
I blest His name that gave and took,
That laid my goods now in the dust.
Yea, so it was, and so ‘twas just.
It was his own, it was not mine,
Far be it that I should repine;
He might of all justly bereft
But yet sufficient for us left.
When by the ruins oft I past
My sorrowing eyes aside did cast
And here and there the places spy
Where oft I sate and long did lie.
Here stood that trunk, and there that chest,
There lay that store I counted best.
My pleasant things in ashes lie
And them behold no more shall I.
Under thy roof no guest shall sit,
Nor at thy Table eat a bit.
No pleasant talk shall ‘ere be told
Nor things recounted done of old.
No Candle e’er shall shine in Thee,
Nor bridegroom‘s voice e’er heard shall be.
In silence ever shalt thou lie,
Adieu, Adieu, all’s vanity.
Then straight I ‘gin my heart to chide,
And did thy wealth on earth abide?
Didst fix thy hope on mould’ring dust?
The arm of flesh didst make thy trust?
Raise up thy thoughts above the sky
That dunghill mists away may fly.
Thou hast a house on high erect
Framed by that mighty Architect,
With glory richly furnished,
Stands permanent though this be fled.
It‘s purchased and paid for too
By Him who hath enough to do.
A price so vast as is unknown,
Yet by His gift is made thine own;
There‘s wealth enough, I need no more,
Farewell, my pelf, farewell, my store.
The world no longer let me love,
My hope and treasure lies above.
.

Source: https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/43707

4 thoughts on “Feeling the Loss

  1. I just found your blog via a search about the McGuffey readers, but then I saw this post on the sidebar… We lost a baby, too, ten years ago. I am so sorry for your loss. I love that you went to Anne Bradstreet’s poetry. I didn’t know about her then. We learn much through homeschooling our children!

    Nice blog.

    1. Thank you for your comment! I am sorry to hear about your loss also. Yes, we definitely do learn a lot through homeschooling — often more than our kids do, I think!

Leave a Reply

