Posted in Homeschooling, Our Adventures

The Year That Never Ends

Stacks of Books

[This post is Delightful-approved]

I’m stuck in the homeschool year that never ends.  It’s not that I don’t want it to end (I’ve been trying to wind down our school year for a few weeks now); it’s that one of my students doesn’t want to stop learning.  What could be wrong with that, you say?  Absolutely nothing — except this mom is tired and really needs a break from policing assignments for a while.

This year, I planned a program of living books and nature study for Delightful’s Grade 4 science program.  All well and good.  But then Delightful wanted to also read Apologia’s Zoology 2.  So we added that to the schedule.  When that was completed, Delightful wanted to read Zoology 1 for fun and asked me to put that on the schedule, too.  Then came Zoology 3, which was supposed to be for Grade 5 but which is now almost completely read.  And Jacques Cousteau’s book on dolphins.  And a series of books on Canadian history.  And the Elsie Dinsmore series.  And the Anne of Green Gables series.  And the Christian Light Grades 1-4 readers for fun.  You get the picture.

I’ve managed to halt French and Writing for the year and have put a moratorium on adding any new items to the schedule — free reading is fine, but I don’t want any more things to check off!  However, we still have a bunch of science activities to catch up on.  That means we still have the end of Life of Fred Kidneys, science activities, the rest of our last Canada book, the rest of Dolphins, readers, and more Elsie and Anne to finish.  I’m figuring with the amount of work we have left to do, we’ll eventually get it all done…just in time for next year!

So until then, I’ll be watching our painted lady caterpillars make their chrysalises…and a small part of me will be wishing that I, too, could cocoon myself away, if only for a little while.  Wait – What’s that, Delightful?  You found our Apologia Botany text?  You want to read it?? For fun?? And you want to know where the schedule is??? Nooooooooooooooo!

“Learning never exhausts the mind” ~ Leonardo da Vinci

Leave a Reply

