Posted in My Life, Reading & Literature

What Books Have Most Influenced You?

Fritz von Uhde - Das Bilderbuch I (1889)Here is a list of the books that influenced C.S. Lewis as he was growing up:

http://www.intellectualtakeout.org/blog/books-influenced-cs-lewis-child

I definitely did not have such an advanced reading list as a child.  However, this post got me thinking about the books that have shaped me.  Here is a list of some of the fiction books or series that influenced me from my childhood into my early adulthood (not all of these are “classics”):

  1. 1984
  2. A Farewell to Arms
  3. A Little Princess
  4. A Wrinkle in Time
  5. Animal Farm
  6. Anna to the Infinite Power
  7. Anne of Green Gables series
  8. Behind the Attic Wall
  9. Black Beauty
  10. Call of the Wild
  11. Charlotte’s Web and other E.B. White books
  12. Devil on My Back and other Monica Hughes books
  13. Emily of New Moon series
  14. Harry Potter series
  15. Hunted and Harried and other R.M. Ballantyne books
  16. The Hunger Games series
  17. Lo, Michael and other Grace Livingstone Hill books
  18. Lord of the Rings trilogy
  19. Love Comes Softly series
  20. Mansfield Park and other Jane Austen books
  21. Nancy Drew series
  22. Prairie Winds trilogy
  23. Sherlock Holmes and other Arthur Conan Doyle books
  24. Stepping Heavenward
  25. The Basket of Flowers
  26. The Giver
  27. The Secret Garden
  28. The Singing Stone
  29. To Kill A Mockingbird
  30. Uncle Tom’s Cabin

This does not include shorter works like Fairy Tales and picture books as that would be a whole other list.

There are other books that probably should be on this list but that I haven’t managed to finish yet (cough, The Pilgrim’s Progress).  I also have other favorites that were made into movies but I only ever saw the movies growing up (The Neverending Story, The Princess Bride, The Wizard of Oz).

What about you?  What books have most shaped you?

Leave a Reply

