Posted in Hyperemesis Gravidarum (HG)

HG: Have You Ever Prayed to Die?

Madeyski PainSince I am still battling Hyperemesis Gravidarum (HG), I thought I’d put up some posts to raise awareness of this disease/condition and the issues women with HG face. If you know someone suffering with HG, please do all that you can to support her and her family. It’s no exaggeration to say that a life may very well depend on it.


Have you ever begged to die?  I have.  I have spent months of my life in a dark room with my eyes closed praying that God would either help me or put me out of my misery.  This is not an uncommon experience for women with HG:

“Please, God, let me die! Just let me die!”

Source: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/the-royals/from-someone-whos-been-through-it-kates-hyperemesis-gravidarum-is-very-real/article6003304/

Shiny white porcelain sweats drops of cool water as I crouch down, retching acid and bile and blood. Stomach empty for another few minutes, I slowly shuffle my bruised, emaciated, IV-dependent body back to bed. During what is supposed to be a happy, glowing time, I cling to life and hope fervently that my unborn baby survives. Most days I pray to live; sometimes I beg to die.

Source and read more: http://www.helpher.org/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=55&t=16635

Please understand that women with HG are very very very sick.  It is not all in their heads as some doctors claim.  HG is a situation where a woman’s body literally revolts against itself.  The only thing that cures it is giving birth — and even then, some women still have symptoms afterwards.

Sometimes all a woman needs to keep going is the knowledge that someone knows and understands what she is going through.  If you know someone struggling with HG, please be a sympathetic ear for her.  In being so, you will be like an angel sent to her from heaven above.

Leave a Reply

