Posted in Education, Public Education, Reading & Literature, Subject English

Former Public School Teacher Apologizes to Former Student

Geoffrey Chaucer (17th century)

Dear Jacob,

I taught you in English class when you were eighteen years old and I owe you an apology. In fact, all your teachers do.

I bought the lie and I lied to you, and it had a profoundly negative impact on you.

I told you that since you weren’t interested in dissecting Shakespeare, you wouldn’t amount to much in life. Oh I didn’t say it in those exact words, but close.

Read more:  http://www.generationcedar.com/main/2014/02/an-open-letter-of-apology-to-my-former-high-school-student.html

Oh dear.  I was never taught Chaucer in my high school and still haven’t read him.  We also didn’t do Shakespeare every year because my teacher ran out of time to teach it.  When I was a teen, there is no way I enjoyed reading through Shakespeare.  I’m glad Kelly’s former student doesn’t need to feel bad for not enjoying it either.

Leave a Reply

