Posted in Early Learning, Daycare, Preschool, Kindergarten, Our Adventures

Toddler Busy Boxes

After browsing the Totally Tots website, I came across an idea that I thought would be helpful for keeping my little ones busy during school time:  a numbers and letters center.

I went to our local dollar store and picked up a bunch of items relating to numbers and letters that were safe for my little ones to play with on their own.  Here is a picture of some of the items I bought:

I picked up two plastic baskets (visible at the top of the photo) and filled one with number-related items and the other with letter-related items.  Some of the items I have put in the baskets include:

  1. Magnetic letters and numbers
  2. Wooden letter and number blocks
  3. Foam letter and number puzzles
  4. Mini abacuses
  5. Foam clocks
  6. Letter and number cards
  7. A 100 number chart

I also put some fun items in the baskets like:

  1. Balls (my little ones love these)
  2. Small stuffed animals
  3. Small board books on topics like shapes

I also have many items that can be used with supervision or outside of school hours that relate to letters and numbers such as:

  1. LeapFrog ABC fridge magnets
  2. Pipe cleaners for making letters and numbers
  3. A Bingo dabber for dabbing in paper letters and numbers
  4. Playdoh for making letters and numbers (and other fun stuff of course!)
  5. Coloring books and crayons
  6. Paint with water books
  7. A clock book for telling time
  8. Dominoes
  9. Miscellaneous card games
  10. A giant abacus and counters, etc.

Hopefully these items will occupy little hands and minds for at least a short time each day!

2 thoughts on “Toddler Busy Boxes

  1. I love these ideas! I really need to make some for my super busy toddler who seems to get into more things that he shouldn’t. Probably due to the fact that I have not done this! Thank you!

    1. Thank you, although the credit goes to Totally Tots. I have also been rotating different activities out from our activity box to keep my little ones occupied.

Leave a Reply

